Who We Are 

Pagosa Water and Sanitation District is a quasi-municipal corporation and a political subdivision of the State of Colorado organized under Colorado Revised Statutes Title 32. The District was originally formed in 1971 and reorganized as the Pagosa Area Water and Sanitation District in 1977.  The District encompasses approximately 76 square miles in the San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado, and includes within its boundaries the Town of Pagosa Springs and unincorporated areas of Archuleta County. 

District Bylaws

Rules & Regulations

PAWSD Public Records Request Procedure

Transparency Notice

PAWSD is governed by a five member Board of Directors who must be electors of the District as defined by state law and are elected to overlapping four year terms of office at successive biennial elections. Vacancies on the Board are filled by appointment of the remaining directors, the appointee to serve until the next regular election, at which time the vacancy is filled by election for any remaining unexpired portion of the term. Pursuant to statute, with certain exceptions, no nonjudicial elected official of any political subdivision of the State can serve more than two consecutive terms in office; however, such term limitation may be lengthened, shortened or eliminated pursuant to voter approval.

The present Directors, their positions on the Board, length of service to the District and current terms of office are as follows:
Board Member

Current Term
Expires (May)

Jim Smith, Chairman and President


Blake Brueckner, Vice President


Gordon McIver, Secretary


Paul Hansen, Treasurer


Glenn Walsh




Phone: 970-731-2691 email: info@pawsd.org
2003 - 2018 PAWSD. All Rights Reserved.